The Virginia Supreme Court Decision & ObamaCare

Well I’m not sure where this is headed, but I’m going to start using the zero-cost of publishing feature of the Internet and do some blogging…

Although I’ve spent 25 years on the “payor/administrator” side of the health insurance system, my skills sets and thinking extend to other areas…

My latest thinking has to to with ObamaCare, and the recent Virginia Supreme Court ruling that the Right seems to be crowing about: Invalidating the albeit weak “mandate” requiring American citizens to “be covered” by some form of health insurance. Here’s the deal:

People don’t like insurance companies refusing to cover people for pre-existing conditions (yet they seem to understand why you can’t buy homeowners insurance while your house is in flames). But the only way to allow people with pre-existing conditions to enroll in health insurance plans is if everyone is required to be enrolled…

Eliminating the idea of requiring universal enrollment makes it even less likely that ObamaCare will succeed from an “insurance” perspective. This concept was originally understood by Republican legislators as a critical feature of any plan that “fixes” the problem of what to do about people who have pre-existing conditions not being able to get covered.

Why is it constitutionally legal for most States to require drivers to buy liability insurance, but constitutionally illegal for the Federal Government to require citizens to buy health insurance?

About Benjamin D. Zelman

www.zelmanandcompany.com
This entry was posted in The Health Care Cost Crisis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Virginia Supreme Court Decision & ObamaCare

  1. Jamie says:

    If I don’t want to buy liability insurance, I can choose not to drive. However, under the health insurance mandate, I would be required to purchase health insurance even if I choose not to go to the doctor. As an herbalist, I have not been to the doctor in over five years. I see a naturopath and a chiropractor, neither of whose services are covered by any type of insurance.

    • Jamie says:

      Also, liability only insurance, the mandated minimum coverage, covers any physical harm that I cause to others or their property while operating a motor vehicle; it does not cover damage to my own vehicle or me. If I’m not concerned with my own property or physical well-being, I do not have to cover myself. If I let my health go, I’m not hurting anyone but myself but health insurance only covers me.

      • Because of the mandate for auto liability coverage, everyone covers everyone else. You are covered by other drivers coverage. That’s the whole idea. No one goes uncovered because everyone has coverage from others. Try saying that 5 times fast… 🙂

    • What if you have a heart attack, or are injured in a car or bus accident, or break your hip, etc. etc. ? Do you expect to not be treated? Health insurance is (or should be) about catastrophic events (and preventive screening).

Leave a Reply

